Christmas captaincy strategy guide

All set for Christmas? Think again.

Captaincy rules in the Sky game mean that, if you’re willing to spend a few minutes making changes in between cutting the turkey and opening presents, you can shoot up those minileagues. This guide will show you how.

Remind me of the Sky captaincy rule again?

Understanding the captaincy rule is crucial to succeeding in the Sky game. If you’re new to the game or just need a refresh on this rule, read ahead. Otherwise, just skip to the next section.

You can make ONE captaincy change each Game Week (a Game Week starts on Friday at 00.01am and runs until midnight the following Thursday). The crucial bit here, unlike the FPL game, is that you can make the change on any day.

For example, you could have Aguero as Captaincy on a Saturday and switch it to Kane playing on the Sunday, allowing you 2 captains for that week. If Kane plays the following Saturday, you can repeat the trick by using your captain change to someone who plays on the Sunday.

You can also transfer your captain to another player, that transfered in player then becomes your captain. You don’t lose previous captaincy points and this doesn’t effect your captaincy change.

So for example, You could have Aguero captain on the Saturday, use your Captaincy Change to switch it to Kane for a Sunday match then transfer Kane out for Lukaku who plays a Monday night fixture. This tactic enables you to have potentially 3 captains during a normal week.

Got it? If you’re still not certain check out the full rules via this link: https://skyfantasyfootballforum.wordpress.com/sky-captaincy-rules/

So how does this rule change over Christmas?

It doesn’t. The rule remains exactly the same; you can make one captaincy change per Game Week. The difference over Christmas is that there are fixtures on four separate days giving you the possibility of having four captains during that week. Yes that’s right, FOUR captains in one week! To use an FPL analogy, the Christmas period in the Sky game represents a crucial double game week.

OK, show me how!

There are potentially hundreds of different captaincy strategies depending on your current team and how many transfers you have left. To keep things simple, I will use my own team as a working example.

My Team

Butland
Dawson, Nyom, Van Dijk
Mahrez, Mane, Cabaye, De Bruyne
Lukaku, Kane (C), Vardy

Overall points: 867
Overall rank: 401
Transfers remaining: 23/40
Money in the bank: 0.5mil

As you can see, my team is pretty template. The exceptions being that I have no Liverpool, Chelsea or Arsenal players, but I will mention if and when these are possible captaincy options.

We will start with this weeks fixtures, this will give you an overview of the captaincy decisions leading up to, and including, the festive period. If you want to do well in Sky this type of planning is essential, it lets you see which players you may need to transfer in ahead of time in order to have the best captaincy strategy. As I had Kane captain on Sunday he is my captain for Saturday’s game against West Brom.

Fixture Captain strategy
Saturday 5th December  
Stoke v Man City
Arsenal v Sunderland
Man Utd v West Ham
Southampton v Aston Villa
Swansea v Leicester
Watford v Norwich
West Brom v Tottenham
Chelsea v Bournemouth
Kane
Sunday 6th December
Newcastle v Liverpool
No captain
Monday 7th December
Everton v Crystal Palace
Captain change to Lukaku
Game week 19
Saturday 12th December
Norwich v Everton
Crystal Palace v Southamp
Man City v Swansea
Sunderland v Watford
West Ham v Stoke
Bournemouth v Man Utd
Lukaku

 

Sunday 13th December
Aston Villa v Arsenal
Liverpool v West Brom
Tottenham v Newcastle
Captain change to Kane
Monday 14th December
Leicester v Chelsea
(Possible transfer to Chelsea or Leicester Captain)
Game week 20
Saturday 19th December
Chelsea v Sunderland
Everton v Leicester
Man Utd v Norwich
Southampton v Tottenham Stoke v Crystal Palace
West Brom v Bournemouth
Newcastle v Aston Villa
Kane

(Possibly Chelsea or Leicester captain)

Sunday 20th December Watford v Liverpool Swansea v West Ham (Possible Liverpool captain)
Monday 21st December
Arsenal v Man City
Bring in and captain Arsenal player
Game week 21
Saturday 26th December
Stoke v Man Utd
Aston Villa v West Ham
Bournemouth v Crystal Palace
Chelsea v Watford
Liverpool v Leicester
Man City v Sunderland
Swansea v West Brom
Tottenham v Norwich
Newcastle v Everton
Southampton v Arsenal
Arsenal player
Monday 28th December  
Crystal Palace v Swansea
Everton v Stoke
Norwich v Aston Villa
Watford v Tottenham
West Brom v Newcastle
Arsenal v Bournemouth
Man Utd v Chelsea
West Ham v Southampton
Arsenal player
Tuesday 29th December  Leicester v Man City Captain change to Leicester or Man City
Wednesday 30th December  Sunderland v Liverpool Potential transfer a Liverpool captain

 

Great! So if I follow this exactly, I will rise up my minileagues?

Not quite. It is important to use this as I guide only. You need to remain flexible in your transfer decisions depending on the form of players, rest or rotation and any injuries (Aguero’s hamstrings!). If you’re flush with transfers, you could also spend a few more to get in some key captains.

All that said, I hope you are able to apply this guide to your own team and shoot up those rankings!

Found this useful? Please share!

As this is a new blog, please tell other sky players that it exists and follow me on twitter (https://twitter.com/Sky_Guru). Please also let me know if you have any other thoughts on the article itself, do you have another strategy in mind?

6 thoughts on “Christmas captaincy strategy guide

  1. niall1murphy December 1, 2015 / 12:00 pm

    Brilliant addition to the FF Community this website, keep it going!

    Very impressed with your points tally despite, like you said, a mediocre week.

    I’m far from a Fantasy Football guru, and I’m sure my inward looking outlook by focusing too heavily on the teams of my ML opponents have hindered my overall prospects. Anyway,

    My team as it stands:

    Schmeichel
    Cathcart, Nyom, Dawson
    KDB, Bolasie, Mahrez, Eriksen
    Aguero, Lukaku, Sanchez(c)

    Transfers: 20
    Points this week: 77
    Overall points: 723

    Depending on the severity of Sanchez’s injury I’ll need to take him out, and whoever comes in will be captain (I’m thinking one of Kane or a risky Hazard).

    My season so far has been plagued with injuries and a few horror-decisions early in the campaign destroyed my chest of transfers. Still, I think I have quite a few more transfers than most in my ML, which I currently sit 5th out of 18.

    I had Bolasie captain on Saturday so I’m hoping I can use this weekend as a springboard for a good Christmas period.

    Who do you think would be the best replacement for Sanchez? I’m concerned about Kane given I’ve already got Eriksen. Hazard would be a gamble but his fixtures rotate well, and I’m in need of one if I’m to start progressing.

    Like

  2. Will aka The Sky Guru December 1, 2015 / 12:43 pm

    Thanks for the kind words Niall!

    Looks like you had a stormer of a week, well played! So few captaincy options paid off last week so you must have flew up the rankings with Bolasie (C)

    Hazard is an interesting one, he is definitely playing better, has great fixtures and was considered essential in the Sky game at the start of the season. On the other side, Chelsea still aren’t scoring (I think they had one shot on goal in the spurs match), there seems to be something going on behind the scenes and no one is sure if he is on pens or not.

    The safe option is Kane, he has form and fixtures. If it was me, I’d have to go for him. Hazard is definitely on my watchlist though, I’ll be bringing in him, Ozil or Silva in very soon.

    Like

  3. pokemon8787 December 7, 2015 / 11:17 am

    Great article man Sky has always been my second game after barcalys but I still take it quite seriously and enjoy it. Very good blog will be reading regularly hopefully.

    Like

  4. ianp1970 December 9, 2015 / 7:28 pm

    My team (Transfers: 26 – In the bank: 1.1M)

    Hennessey

    Cathcart
    Souare
    Nyom

    Ayew
    Ozil
    Mane
    de Bruyne

    Benteke
    Lukaku (c)
    Kane

    Current transfer/captain plans:

    13th Kane (c)
    14th Ayew to Mahrez
    20th Benteke (c)
    21st Benteke to Sanchez
    29th Lukaku/Kane to Aguero

    Leaving me on NYD with 23 transfers and 0.2M in the bank, and this line-up:

    Hennessey

    Cathcart
    Souare
    Nyom

    Mahrez
    Ozil
    Mane
    de Bruyne

    Sanchez
    Aguero (c)
    Lukaku/Kane

    Like

Leave a Reply

