ALL SET gw 25

My New Year resolution didn’t even last a month. Back in came Sergio Aguero, and for once he repaid my faith as he scored over half of my team’s points bringing home a nice round 40 as captain. I avoided switching my captain for last week’s matches on Sunday and Monday meaning I have Aguero lined up for an away trip to Upton Park.

My Team

Butland
Dawson, Nyom, Van Dijk
Ozil, De Bruyne, Alli, Mahrez
Kane, Lukaku Aguero (C)

Last week’s points: 71
Overall points: 1376
Overall rank: 119
Transfers remaining: 16/40
Money in the bank: 0.2mil

In order to bring Aguero in I had to sacrifice Ramsey, unfortunately I did so before his haul against Liverpool. I still think the Welsh man is a decent option but his inconsistent form forced my hand. I now have my desired front 3, all explosive and captain material.

Transfers

I have avoided making changes the last couple of weeks mainly because I have been away with limited internet. My lack of tinkering seems to have helped, with my team edging back towards the top 100.

I’m not particularly happy with my midfield but other options seem few and far between with no one really catching my eye at present. The one exception being Payet, but I’m likely to wait until his GW27 Monday night clash with Southampton so I can make the most of captaincy that week. Although depending on how he looks against City, I may even draft him in for Mahrez next week.

Getting rid of Mahrez is a big decision and one that I won’t take lightly as he is highly owned, cheap and dangerous. But it seems like he no longer has pens, is off form and has poor fixtures. I’ll reassess the situation after this week.

In defence, holding onto Van Dijk paid off as he brought in back to  back clean sheets. I’m still not completely convinced by him but again I can’t see that there are many options in that price bracket that are worth a trade.

Captaincy Strategy

At first glance this week looks pretty straightforward, I had planned to use my transfer change to make Ozil captain as Arsenal play host Chelsea. This works out well as Arsenal then play host to Southampton in game day 1 of the following week (which is a Tuesday due to FA cup games). However, there is also the option to stick with Aguero as captain as City play at Sunderland the same day. Its basically a toss up between Ozil x2 and Aguero x1 against Sunderland – a 50-50 call and one I’ll likely make Saturday evening.

9 thoughts on “ALL SET gw 25

  1. lee January 21, 2016 / 8:24 pm

    City don’t play sunderland until 2 February Tuesday night as fa cup weekend from the 30 Jan so should have a free captain change that cup weekend before the midweek fixtures

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru January 21, 2016 / 9:09 pm

      Good spot! I meant Tuesday in the article – I’ll change it now. Although the gameweek changes on a Thursday so next week is pretty much the same as usual even though there is FA cup games – so we won’t have a free captaincy change

      Like

  2. ianp1970 January 22, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    Arsenal 24th/2nd and Everton (ie Lukakau) 3rd/6th is definitely an option…

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru January 23, 2016 / 9:00 am

      Yeah Lukaku 3rd/6th is a shoe in. Just depends on whether I want aguero as captain for the Sunderland match but I’m leaning towards capping Ozil for 24th/2nd

      Like

  3. ianp1970 January 24, 2016 / 10:17 am

    49 points yesterday with Lukakau, Ramsey and Ozil (c) to come. Thinking of transferring KDB to Alli next week to free up funds for a defensive upgrade the following week. Currently thinking Hennessy/Souare to Forster/VVD ready for MNF on February 8th. Would leave my team looking like:

    Forster
    Nyom Cathcart VVD
    Ozil Ramsey Mahrez Alli
    Aguero Kane Lukaku

    1.3M ITB
    20 Transfers

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru January 24, 2016 / 10:49 am

      Looking strong Ian and still with plenty of trades left!

      What are your thoughts on Nyom, think he can win his place back?

      Like

      • ianp1970 January 24, 2016 / 11:38 am

        Didn’t realise he’d been left out! Change of plan required….

        Like

        • Will aka The Sky Guru January 24, 2016 / 11:51 am

          The only problem with having someone so cheap is that they are difficult to replace. I’m tempted to wait and see if he can win his place back, not the end of the world if he misses the next couple of fixtures anyway as they are tough

          Like

  4. ianp1970 January 24, 2016 / 2:16 pm

    Targett could be an option at the same price, maybe look to someone other than VVD at the more expensive level…

    Like

Leave a Reply

