GW 30 captaincy strategy

The upcoming gameweek is a bumper double in Sky and offers the chance for canny managers to steal a march on their rivals. As such, its deserving of a little bit more attention than usual, especially regarding captaincy strategy.

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 20.42.01

With 11 transfers remaining I have a few to play with but not enough to go crazy. By the time the gameweek starts, I should also have the armband firmly placed on Vardy (remember to change before midnight on Thursday!)

The fixtures – GW 30 and GW 31 (5th March only)

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 21.10.20

I have narrowed my choice down to 2 main routes. There are of course plenty of other strategies, but these are my preferred 2.

Option A

Vardy (NOR) > Vardy (WBA) > Aguero (liv) > Aguero (VIL)

This is the obvious option and doesn’t require any transfers. Also has some very appealing fixtures

Option B

Vardy (NOR) > Kane (swa) > transfer in Costa (nor) > transfer in Kane (wha) > Kane (ARS)

I think this has the greatest points potential as it has the most captains. With Costa up against a poor Norwich defence and triple Kane it also has some juicy fixtures but comes at the expense of 2 transfers.

 

For me, I’m strongly leaning towards Route A. I have been guilty of overthinking captaincy decisions this year and keen on not making the same mistake. But if you have a lot of trades left and ground to make up, Route B (or something similar) is worth considering.

If you have any questions about your team or captaincy strategy let me know in the comments below

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “GW 30 captaincy strategy

  1. hrunny7 February 22, 2016 / 10:40 pm

    I think a lot will do A. It’s a good idea and one I’ve been looking at a lot, norwich and west brom are terrible. Then liverpool’s defence is poor and aguero has scored against them already.
    However, I might have to do something different and silly to make any sort of move. I’m thinking Payet -> Kane. In gw31 there will only be one captain so choose aguero obviously.
    It could completely backfire and probably will do.

    It also means your B will work ok, you can change to aguero in 31

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru February 23, 2016 / 8:14 am

      Not a bad shout if you don’t already own Kane and want to try and make some ground up.

      Like

  2. ianp1970 February 22, 2016 / 10:58 pm

    A for me. Keeping my remaining TFs for later in the season.

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru February 23, 2016 / 8:17 am

      Looks like most are going that route. Thought there might be more variation but it does seem like obvious one

      Like

Leave a Reply

