Captain strategy guide – April

With almost all of the fixtures released, we can now take a look at captain and transfer strategy over April. This has become a crucial period of fixture pileups and double gameweeks that canny managers can take advantage of. I’ll use my team as an example, which you can adjust depending on how many transfers you have remaining and your current line up. A word of warning, this isn’t for the faint hearted and does get quite complex!

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 11.56.19.png

9 transfer left
2.3 banked

I have created a spreadsheet with all my planned captaincy strategy and possible transfers until the end of the season. Hopefully it fairly self explanatory, the comments column contains which teams have extra fixtures, risk of rotation and alternative strategies etc.

GW35

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 12.10.27.png

There are a few possible captaincy routes for the next gameweek. Initially bringing in Everton captain/ players looked the way to go given that they have 3 extra fixtures from Sunday. But I’ll probably only make a forced switch of Butland > Robles. I’m not 100% set on Robles either, but at 4.1 he is very cheap and has great fixtures.

I am also considering Payet captain on Saturday then transfer him out for Barkley. I could then use my captain swap to still have Aguero captain for game day 1 in GW36. The downside of this route is that I probably wouldn’t get Payet back in again as I’m limited on transfers.

GW36

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 12.17.34

3 strong captain picks in GW36. I’ll lose Kane but he we come back in later. As you can see in the comments column, Liverpool have 3 extra fixtures when they square up to Stoke but there is also a high threat of rotation as they play Dortmond midweek.

GW37

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 12.27.23.png

This is the big one. Those with plenty of transfers left, could take advantage by having 6 captains! I’ll make do with 4. I have also lined up a couple of potential transfers here as I look to load up on Arsenal for their favourable run-in.

Liverpool again offer the option to bring players in as they have 3 extra fixtures with the bonus of being able to see who starts on Sunday 17th.  At the moment I only really want Firmino who comes in as captain on the 20th April – although this could change in a couple weeks.

GW38

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 12.33.46

I’ll hopefully welcome Kane back into my side this week. The Spurs front man is in great form and I don’t want to go too long without him. This strategy means I get 2 captains out of him and only miss one away match against Stoke. It also allows room for double Lukaku and double Sanchez captains.

So over the next 4 gameweeks I will hopefully hit 10 out of a possible 13 captains, not bad. I won’t go beyond gw38 and into May as things can change a lot, but I have penciled in a strategy. If you want to see it or use this excel sheet as a template for your team, you can view it via this link:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_DfyvQmt6d-MklZM2VhOVlidnM/view?usp=sharing

Let me know your strategy!

If you have any questions on your team or thoughts on the above strategy let me know in the comments section. Or you can join our facebook group to discuss with others Sky players.

20 thoughts on “Captain strategy guide – April

  1. Andrew Paterson March 28, 2016 / 12:56 pm

    A crucial few weeks with much to ponder. No real strategy developed for my side yet but a really helpful guide to what’s around the corner with plenty of options to think through. Good work Sir!

    Like

      • Andrew Paterson March 28, 2016 / 6:39 pm

        Thanks Will. Nowhere near the level of most of the guys in the Private League but in the context of the mini-league at work my team are coming to the boil nicely. In the last week or two I’ve hit top spot. We’ve had a great league this year with four or five from fifteen in the mix for winning which makes it that little bit more exciting. Good luck for the rest of the season!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Will aka The Sky Guru March 28, 2016 / 7:02 pm

          It’s all about those mini leagues.

          I also play the FPL game and its so close in my main mini league.. Makes it far more enjoyable!

          Like

          • Andrew Paterson March 31, 2016 / 6:28 pm

            Yeah, we’ve had one where we’ve had fourteen or fifteen involved for the last 4 or 5 seasons. The way we work it is to spread the winnings down as much as possible to try to keep everyone interested. Never had a season quite so close which is great and you’re spot on, it’s the mini leagues that make it if you aren’t a top tier player.

            Like

    • ianp1970 March 28, 2016 / 9:56 pm

      How many TFs do you have left Andrew?

      Like

      • Andrew Paterson March 31, 2016 / 6:52 pm

        Got seven to play with Ian. Some great advice between Will’s and your own plans for forthcoming weeks that I hope I can take advantage of!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Will aka The Sky Guru March 29, 2016 / 12:50 pm

      Thanks for sharing Ian. Plan shaping up nicely!

      You could do Van Dijk to Bellerin on the 17th April to get 3 games out of him.. but maybe you fancy Bellerin to score more in his 2 games?

      Like

  2. grafiddler March 29, 2016 / 12:44 pm

    This is a very useful article Will, many thanks. And to Ian too for sharing your strategy. I have 12 transfers remaining but have a lot of ground to make up as I’m outside the top 1k. Current team is:
    Butland
    Huth VVD Francis
    Mahrez Payet Alli Eriksen Silva
    Kun Kane
    1.9m ITB

    Initial thoughts for this week are to swap out Butland for Migs, or Cech if declared fit, and Eriksen to Barkley (or Lukaku if I get Migs instead of Cech) on Sunday. I’ll think on about my strategy moving forward and share my thoughts later in the week

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru March 29, 2016 / 12:54 pm

      Looks good Grafiddler. I would certainly go with Cech rather than Robles if his price didn’t handicap me later down the line. If he is passed fit I may yet do it and tweak my strategy.

      Let us know your future strategy once you have it finalised!

      Like

  3. ianp1970 March 29, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    Sorry miscalculation, just the 12 captains.

    Feels like I should be able to improve something between April 16-21, but I just can’t put my finger on it!

    Any suggestions gladly welcomed….

    Like

    • ianp1970 March 29, 2016 / 10:12 pm

      And it looks like Elliot is now out😦

      Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru March 29, 2016 / 11:37 pm

      Can’t quite figure out what your captain plan is 16-21? Lukaku (16th), swap to Sanchez (17th) then leave it on him for (21st)?

      If so, that can definitely be improved upon. You could simply follow my plan that week?

      Or, as you have extra trades, your captain strategy could look something like this:

      3rd Vardy
      9th Transfer in Barkley
      10th Swap to Kane
      13th Transfer Kane > Lukaku
      16th Lukaku
      17th Transfer Lukaku > Firmino
      19th Swap to Aguero
      20th Transfer Aguero > Coutinho (or Arsenal)

      That would give you a captain every gameday between 3rd -20th?

      Like

  4. ianp1970 March 29, 2016 / 10:44 pm

    Reshuffled with Robles for now on same link, Will have a further look tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

