All set gw37 – the big one

Gw36 turned out to be one of my best yet. I’ll briefly review it, before turning my thoughts towards gw37’s bumper double.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 08.20.17

5 transfers remaining
0.9 in the bank

GW36 review

Last week was a strange one. I got off to a bad start with Cech and De Bruyne being on the bench. To make things worse Sigurddson, scored against Chelsea, making my De Bruyne move look foolish.

Given that Cech was also on the bench the week before last, it could mean that Ospina had taken his place until Arsenal concede a few goals, so I decided to make a move for Robles. On Saturday evening this didn’t look to clever –  Arsenal conceding 3 (meaning Cech will surely be back starting next week) and Everton failing to get a shut out. Some may quite rightly ask, “why spend a transfer bringing in a keeper when you only have 6 left!?”

Well, the extra money allowed me to captain Vardy, who had a good fixture against Sunderland, and then ditch him for Lukaku (regular followers will remember I was planning to remove Kane in the same strategy). This approach also saves me a transfer later down the line in bringing Kane back into the fold and allows me to bring in Sanchez next week. So, all things considered, Cech > Robles made sense (I think!)

As it turns out, Vardy scored a brace and returned 24 point captain haul and Robles brought home a tidy 10 points in the end, not to shabby (although maybe a little fortunate). Their scores and a healthy sprinkling of points across the board allowed me to jump up to 12th position overall – my highest position yet.

GW37 – the big one

Captain Lukaku kicks off the week against the Saints at Goodison Park. The big Belgian will then make way for Sanchez who squares up to Palace. I’m hoping Sanchez proves a canny differential as he’s owned by just 5.6% of the top 1000 managers – you can see full top 1000 ownership percentages on Disable’s post over on fantasy football scout.

I’ll use my captaincy switch to make Aguero skipper against a Newcastle team who have to go for broke at St James’ Park. On Wednesday, I’ll have to make a decision on which (if any) Liverpool player to bring in for Aguero. Klopp’s men seem to be rotating every match at moment, so I’ll have to think carefully on who to plump for.

It will probably be either Firmino, Coutinho or Sturridge. The good news here is that I will be able to see the Liverpool line up on Wednesday before I decide.  Hopefully whoever I end up going with can keep their place for the following weekend’s match up against Newcastle.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 09.26.24.png

This strategy will give me 4/6 captains and set me up well for the next gameweek. Regular readers will note that I no longer have a “possible transfers” column. This is because, unless there is an injury, all of my remaining transfers will be spent on captains.

I’ll only have 3 transfers left after this week, and with another planned to bring Aguero back in as captain against Stoke on the 24th, I’m running on empty. But I’m happy with my team and have various different options available moving forward. I just have to hope my squad stays injury free.

Your thoughts

How did your week go? What’s your strategy this week? Need advice on your team? Feel free to ask in comments section below.

Don’t forget you can follow me on twitter and join in with discussion on our facebook group.

 

22 thoughts on “All set gw37 – the big one

  1. Hornetto April 15, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    A little bit concerned over the Lukaku injury and potential loss of a captain tomorrow! Fingers crossed he plays!

    Like

  2. SAM W April 15, 2016 / 11:06 pm

    Hi Will. An absolute shocker for me with just 47 points. Started off badly with Silva’a injury and then KDB being benched. Got even worse on Sunday having transferred out Vardy as well.

    Seems that some others also struggled as I just managed to hold on to my top 100 spot. Just the three captains for me this week due to lack of transfers (dependent on Lukaku fitness.

    Don’t think I have much hope of catching you now. Good luck for the week.

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 16, 2016 / 8:38 am

      You never know with the sky game. You can get massive swings each week, if you land a couple of captains you could be back in the chase. What strategy are you going with this week?

      Like

      • SAM W April 16, 2016 / 1:50 pm

        Lukaku today if fit then transfer to Sanchez for his two games or possibly switch to Aguero for the Newcastle game. Still undecided. I’d also missed that city’s game had been moved next week so room for adjustment. Think I’ll also not bother getting a Liverpool player as rotation is impossible to predict!

        Like

  3. ianp1970 April 16, 2016 / 8:36 am

    Not a great week with 55.

    Transfers tomorrow

    VVD to Bellerin
    Lennon to Payet
    Lukaku (c) to Sanchez

    Captain swap to Aguero Tuesday.

    Unsure on what to do with Liverpool and/or Ozil at the minute….

    With Man city now playing Saturday lunchtime I might just keep the armband on Sergio?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 16, 2016 / 8:51 am

      Ian, you’re a saviour. Completely missed that the City match had been moved!

      I’ll have to give it another look over but doesn’t make much sense bringing in Liverpool player now, especially as I’m running low on transfers. Most probably keep it on Kun.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hrunny7 April 18, 2016 / 6:22 am

    After vardy’s red card, I’m down to 2 transfers. It’s been a good week for me, but I hope the transfer situation won’t hurt too much which I think it will. A lot of people went for the sanchez captaincy as well

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 18, 2016 / 10:39 am

      Didn’t want to hold onto him? 2 should be enough though, as long as you don’t have a few injuries

      Like

      • hrunny7 April 18, 2016 / 10:59 am

        He doesn’t have many games left. 2 is ok, even 1 is ok but it means I will miss some captaincy games.
        What are doing in the next gw? Are you going to try to get 3 captains?

        Like

        • Will aka The Sky Guru April 18, 2016 / 11:48 am

          I was until the City match got moved to Sat. Now just doing Aguero > Sanchez most probably. You doing something similar?

          Like

          • hrunny7 April 18, 2016 / 12:34 pm

            Yeah. I think I miss 3 games for captaincies from now on, not including this gameweek, hopefully I’ll be ok

            Like

          • Justin0 April 18, 2016 / 2:12 pm

            Any chance you’ll be updating your captaincy Google Sheet? Your team isn’t too dissimilar to my own so it was quite useful for ideas.

            Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 18, 2016 / 10:10 pm

      Looking good Ian. Slight risk going without Aguero in the last 2 given his form but I guess you could always use one of your transfers to get him back in if needed.

      Trying to get Kane in as captain for the West Brom game myself, but just can’t justify it sadly

      Like

  5. ianp1970 April 18, 2016 / 10:28 pm

    That’s what I’m keeping the TFs for, injuries permitting.

    Also possibilities of:

    Bellerin to Liverpool or Man. Utd. on May 1st.

    Ozil to Vardy May 1st then to Defoe May 11th.

    Like

  6. hrunny7 April 20, 2016 / 4:03 pm

    Not really looking forward to today. A lot have coutinho below me, but its been a good week. A major rival has completely imploded. It started off well for him, he had triple watford defence including gomes but not alli, kane or aguero has seen him fall back hugely. He went for differentials like coutinho, sturridge and lamela but its backfired on him, I almost feel sorry for him.

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 20, 2016 / 9:46 pm

      It’s been a poor week for me. No Liverpool hurting again tonight, don’t feel too sorry for your rival just yet!

      Like

      • hrunny7 April 21, 2016 / 4:53 pm

        He didn’t have coutinho. Don’t worry I’m not counting my chickens, anything can happen.

        Bad week so far? You’ve slipped a few places but it’s getting quite tight at the top. 20th is still pretty good, I’d swap.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

