All set gw38 – into the home straight

I’m not going to lie, I expected gw37 to go much better. With Lukaku benched on Saturday and a Man City fixture change, my planned quadruple captain strategy ended up being just 2. So, despite a ton score of 117 I ended up sliding back down the rankings. Still, I’m optimistic of bouncing back with my team set up well for the home stretch.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 07.55.14.png

Transfer left 4
In the bank 0.0

Sadly, despite having them, I missed the monster captaincy hauls from AgueroKane and Sanchez last week. The good news though, is that I still have four transfers left and plan on hitting all but one captaincy over the final 4 weeks.

Im pretty happy with my team overall. Although I have to admit that I didn’t quite anticipate Everton being quite so bad in defence. Still Robles’s price does mean a better team overall. With Vardy out for possible 2 games, I’m hoping most can’t afford my trio upfront.

Liverpool conundrum

Liverpool are clearly a team in form and have great fixtures – the two key ingredients for successful fantasy picks. But, given Klopp’s love for rotation and a busy run in that includes crucial Europa League ties, there is no way of knowing who is going to play each week. So without wanting to flutter away transfers, I’ll begrudgingly avoid them for now.

Captain strategy

Fairly straightforward strategy this week. At one stage, I had hoped I could sneak in Kane as captain on Monday, but the way things have fallen I’ll be avoiding the inform Spurs frontman. Instead, I’ll hope Aguero starts and gets amongst the goals as City welcome an off colour Stoke outfit to the Etihad.

I’ll then use my switch to get Sanchez in as the inform Chilean pays visit to Sunderland in what I hope will be a high scoring encounter as both sides go for the win. This sets me up well the following week as Arsenal play host to a Norwich side not known for keeping things tight at the back.

You can see my full captain strategy via this link

No fixtures

Be aware that West Ham, Everton, Norwich, Man United, Palace and Watford don’t play this week. I just have 2 players from those 6 teams, so holding my transfers tight and hoping to field 9. Although I’m slightly worried that De Bruyne (or possibly even Aguero) might get a rest given City’s Champions League exploits midweek.

How did your week go?

I expect there are some monster hauls out there. Let me know how you got on this week in the comments.

Don’t forget you can follow me on twitter and join in with discussion on our facebook group.

7 thoughts on “All set gw38 – into the home straight

  1. hrunny7 April 23, 2016 / 10:45 am

    According to disable’s post, the average for transfers is 2. There’s going to be some benchings and wierd things happening until the end of the season. It’s not over yet.

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 23, 2016 / 10:55 am

      Yeah, far from over. If I finished where I am I would be very happy to be honest, but hoping to make a push for that top 10. I do regret not using a couple of transfers last week though, in hindsight, it was an opportunity missed.

      Like

  2. ianp1970 April 24, 2016 / 7:59 am

    Might put Welbeck in for KDB if he starts today. Arsenal playing twice before Man City and KDB could miss out again next week.

    Like

  3. Will aka The Sky Guru April 24, 2016 / 11:03 am

    Decent shout that. Have to admit I’m contemplating a double swoop for arsenal players. Kdb & Van Dijk > Iwobi & Bellerin. Looking at the remaining fixtures I only really need 2 transfers for captaincy. With Van Dijk having spurs and city up next and KDB looking insecure for minutes I’m very tempted. What do you think?

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 24, 2016 / 8:35 pm

      Ended up taking the plunge. No luck for Iwobi but already 8 points better off and with Norwich up next it doesn’t look like such a crazy move.

      Did you move out KDB?

      Like

  4. ianp1970 April 25, 2016 / 9:49 am

    Yep same move as you then, Iwobi.

    My defence has pulled me out of the fire this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

