Captain strategy – final weeks

With Van Dijk unable to keep a clean sheet against against a woeful Villa and De Bruyne being benched I got impatient and ditched the duo. Now down to just 2 transfers, I’m hoping my team stays injury and suspension (Alli I’m looking at you) free until the end. Instead of reviewing the previous gameweek, I turn my attentions to the remaining captaincy decisions.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 08.29.52.png

4.1 banked
2 transfers left

Captaincy strategy

One last big decision. Its potentially a very important one as I ponder whether to place my faith in Liverpool or Chelsea assets for the run in.  As you can see, both Route A & B (see two columns in red) only miss one day of captaincy (which is why I decided to use 2 transfers at the weekend).

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 16.35.51

When considering two different strategies, I find it easier to think of a captain as a player playing twice. This seems obvious I know, but it helps in making a decision on which strategy to go for. Also remember that it is the difference between the two strategies that is important. For example, I only get one extra Aguero against Southampton in Route A despite having him as captain, as I will still own him in Route B. Conversely, I will get 2 extra Fabregas’s (or Hazard if I go for him) against Tottenham, as I don’t even own him in route B.

Route A extra players: Aguero (sou), Fabregas (TOT), Fabregas (TOT), Fabregas (sun), Fabregas (sun), Aguero (ARS), Sanchez (mcy), Sanchez (AVL), Payet (stk). Total = 9

Route B extra players: Sturridge (swa), Sturridge (swa), Kane (che), Sturridge (WAT), Kane (SOU), Sturridge (CHE), Firmino (CHE), Firmino (CHE), Sturridge (wba), Firmino (wba). Total = 10

Route B provides 1 extra player (10 vs. 9), but with Klopp’s tendency for rotation and my reliance on Liverpool assets, I suspect that Route A will actually provide more minutes on the pitch. Although it’s worth noting that I will be able to see the line ups both times I transfer in a Liverpool player as captain, making Route B slightly less risky than it may appear.

Either way I’ll be taking a risk on a team either not 100% focused (Liverpool) or motivated (Chelsea) on the premier league. There’s also a couple of slight variants to Route B, but I won’t go into them as its pretty confusing as it is. Needless to say though, that Route B is slightly more flexible.

 

Which way will I go? I have no idea at moment, Route A is slightly safer but I think Route B has the greater upside. I’ll likely wait until I see the Liverpool line up on Sunday and hope that Alli doesn’t receive a ban. I have to admit that I’ll be slightly relieved once I have no more big decisions to make. With quite a bit of money on the line (somewhere between £3-6,000), a bad decision now (like relying on Sturridge’s hamstrings!) could cost me dearly.

9 thoughts on “Captain strategy – final weeks

  1. Andrew Paterson April 26, 2016 / 8:48 am

    Crikey £3k-£6k! I’m boring everyone who’ll listen (and plenty who won’t) about the difference of £40 between first and second in our wee mini league. With those high stakes best of luck to you Will!

    Like

  2. Will aka The Sky Guru April 26, 2016 / 6:02 pm

    Looks like Alli will get a suspension so this article is largely redundant.

    Back to the drawing board

    Like

    • hrunny7 April 26, 2016 / 10:10 pm

      Alli suspension is a blow, but 908 out of the top 1000 have him so they will be in the same position. If played well it could be an opportunity, I guess

      Like

      • Will aka The Sky Guru April 27, 2016 / 11:31 am

        This is true, although its very frustrating that I used 2 transfers last week as I figured I only needed 2 more for captaincy in the final stages.

        Still, as you say, I expect most will be in a similar boat and possibly with no transfers.

        Like

  3. ianp1970 April 26, 2016 / 10:35 pm

    Maybe Lanzini for Iwobi on May 7th: giving 44 players with 7 captains over the 8 days of the last 3 rounds?

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 27, 2016 / 1:57 pm

      Looks good Ian. Think the Alli news will help those, like yourself, with more transfers so its probably good news for you.

      I like your strategy above. Another option (not necessarily better) would be to do Kane > Defoe and then Alli > Sturridge (if you can afford it?). I’m not convinced by Everton or Lukaku at the moment, but they could turn things around.

      I’m looking at Alli > Fabregas in time for Monday. Allows me to do the following captaincy strategy:

      Sanchez (NOR) transfer to Firmino (swa) swap to Fabregas (TOT, sun) swap to Firmino (WAT, CHE)

      I’m slightly concerned on relying on Firmino so much, but I think its the best I can do with just 2 transfers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

