Alli replacement options

With reports suggesting that Alli has accepted his FA charge, he’s out for the season. Frustratingly, I would have welcomed this news last week, as I had 4 transfers left (more than most). But now with just 2, it’s effected my planned captaincy decisions and made my head hurt with possible replacement options. I’m hoping putting down my thoughts on paper will help clarify the decision.

Let him rot

The first option, and one I’m seriously considering, is to stick with my planned captaincy strategy and leave Alli to rot on the bench. Not ideal, but captaincy is so important in Sky that this is certainly an option.

Cheap midfielder

Well not quite so cheap for me. With 3.1 banked I can look at slightly pricier options. I’m looking to target someone who has an extra fixture. Budget buys Iwobi, or possibly even Watmore, look options if you’re strapped for cash. With my extra budget, the likes of BarkleyNoble or Milner come onto the radar. To be honest none of these appeal, I’ll be looking elsewhere.

Cheap forward

Having 3 forwards already, this isn’t an option for me. But this would be my preferred route with Defoe and Carrol top of the list.

Defender

Here I can go with more premium options, including Monreal and Smalling. With the extra game, United defensive solidity and fairly easy opponents, Smalling seems like a good option for me. He’s currently top of the list, if I choose to go with a straight swap. If you’re short on funds, Van Aarnolt or Kirchhoff are my preferred options in the budget bracket.

Alternative?

Im strongly considering removing Sanchez (my current captain) to Firmino who squares up to Swansea on Sunday. This releases some extra funds and allows me to do Alli to Fabregas. This is a bonus, as I can then use my switch to make Fabregas captain for Sunday (Tottenham home) and the following saturday (Sunderland away) in the penultimate gameweek.

With Liverpool playing on the Sunday and Wednesday in the penultimate week, I can use my switch to get another 2 captains out of Firmino. The only problem is I doubt Firmino will play in all of his remaining matches.

Conclusion

Getting my thoughts down on paper has helped. I’m now leaning towards Smalling or the alternative strategy. I fancy United to get 2-3 clean sheets (out of 4), which should mean an extra 15-20 points. However, the alternative allows me to keep a pretty good captaincy strategy and get rid of Alli, hopefully the best of both worlds.

 

19 thoughts on “Alli replacement options

  1. hrunny7 April 28, 2016 / 5:51 pm

    Alli is definitely banned now. I hadn’t thought of defenders. Noble is someone I hadn’t though of either. I haven’t made my decision yet, one things for certain I won’t have many captains over the last gameweeks.
    A lot of people have captained Kane, I wonder how they will deal with the Alli news. If they are down to 2 transfers as well it’s likely they will have to get rid of Kane for the rest of the season.
    Coutinho is my nemesis at the moment, if he plays on sunday I will have to bring him in

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 28, 2016 / 9:56 pm

      If I didn’t have extra funds I would almost certainly leave him on the bench. One of the cheap mids/ defenders will come good but its difficult to pin down which one.

      I have to thank you for your advice on Kane vs. West Brom by the way. I may have taken a different strategy without it and be in an even worse position like those who have 2 or fewer transfers and have the captaincy on Kane. Think most in that situation will leave Alli on the bench, which might just give us an edge.

      Saw that Coutinho came off at half time in the Liverpool match so he may have a knock. I really want Sturridge for Swansea/Watford, looks a certainty to be in the goals. Sadly, I may have to settle for Firmino, although I’m very worried he may be benched.

      Like

      • hrunny7 April 29, 2016 / 7:43 am

        I didn’t notice Coutinho getting subbed off, thanks. He said he was under the weather. I don’t know what your plans are but I’d be very careful with captaining aguero on sunday.

        Like

        • Will aka The Sky Guru April 29, 2016 / 8:17 am

          Not considering Aguero. Plan was to go Sanchez > Firmino as captain on Sunday. But after he played 90 yesterday, I doubt he will start. I may do Sanchez > Sturridge given he didn’t play last night.

          Although that means I can’t afford Alli > Fabregas, so I’m in a bit of a quandary at the moment.

          Like

          • hrunny7 April 29, 2016 / 9:48 pm

            The liverpool route is hard. I don’t think I will bother but according to fpl perhaps milner is an option. Not a very good one but on fpl they rate him a little bit.

            Like

  2. SAM W April 28, 2016 / 8:30 pm

    I’m seriously considering just leaving him. I’ve had a good few weeks even with KDB being benched a lot so you can still score well with 10. Got Eriksen in on monday for KDB so hoping he sees more of the goal scoring opportunities with Alli banned.
    Also got credited an extra 3 points for Eriksen’s assist today. I guess my moaning email worked!

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 28, 2016 / 9:46 pm

      So you’re the reason I have dropped from 17th to 18th😉 Looks like you scored well at the weekend!

      I think leaving him in is a good tactic if you’re low on transfers and short on funds. How many do transfers do you have left Sam?

      Like

      • SAM W April 28, 2016 / 11:44 pm

        Just the one and no funds to upgrade. Don’t fancy Iwobi so that’s my decision made really. Full house from my defence this week which certainly turns a solid week into a good one!

        Doubling up on Leicester defenders two months ago has been my best decision this season. Hoping that they grind their way to the title with some clean sheets!

        Like

        • hrunny7 April 29, 2016 / 7:41 am

          Leicester double defence has been brilliant for me as well. Hopefully a 0-0 draw at Old Trafford and they will have to keep it tight against Everton

          Like

    • hrunny7 April 29, 2016 / 9:52 pm

      1 free transfer for the last games could be really good. There is always someone rested on the last day of the season. That was one of my plans to make up ground but I’ve used too many. Imagine if someone like aguero or ozil didn’t play and you replaced him with someone like welbeck against villa – that would be good. You will see all the teamsheets as well because they all play at the same time

      Like

      • ianp1970 April 30, 2016 / 2:05 pm

        Will be interesting to see how I fare in the last 3 weeks. Hopefully a lot of ML rivals will be out of TFs…

        Like

  3. Justin0 April 30, 2016 / 11:07 am

    I have just the one swap remaining, so I’m deciding between:

    (A) Alli -> Iwobi
    (B) Captain swap Aguero -> Fabregas on Monday and ignore Alli

    I’ve made a list of the differences between the two options over the coming three weeks if anyone wants to pitch in with their thoughts.

    Route A would give me:
    Iwobi v Norwich
    Iwobi v Man City (Away)
    Aguero (C) v Arsenal
    Payet (C) v Man Utd
    Iwobi v Villa
    Aguero v Swansea (Away)

    Route B would give me:
    Fabregas (C) v Tottenham
    Fabregas (C) v Sunderland (Away)
    Kane (C) v Southampton
    Fabregas v Liverpool
    Fabregas v Leicester

    I’m leaning towards route A, as it’s less dependent on a single player and I wouldn’t be without Aguero for the final two weeks.

    Like

    • Will aka The Sky Guru April 30, 2016 / 11:42 am

      Remember you will still have Kane in in Route A, so Route B only gets 1 extra Kane points not double (same applies to Payet in Route A).

      Not an easy decision though, I think I would edge towards A also.

      Like

      • Justin0 April 30, 2016 / 2:36 pm

        Good spot! It’s enough to become the deciding factor between the two.

        Like

  4. ianp1970 April 30, 2016 / 5:30 pm

    Defoe (c) comes good right at the end…

    Like

Leave a Reply

