Season Review 2015/16

Today, I am very happy. Despite a poor last few weeks, I crucially won all my cash leagues apart from D1sable’s where I came 2nd. As I entered £120 into 19 leagues, I should come in with at least £6,000. Being a PhD researcher this is a huge amount of money for me, so I’m pretty chuffed.

Final Team

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 09.22.55

A slightly frustrating end as 4 of my players didn’t play and a Smalling own goal last night cost me what looked like a certain clean sheet. Still, I can’t complain, these things tend to even out over the season and I have had my fair share of luck.

My Starting 11

Pantilimon
Naughton, Ward, van Aanholt
Hazard, Ramsey, Mane, Payet, Jurado
Aguero, Rooney

Its interesting taking a look back to see who was in my starting 11 at the start of the season. Payet looks to be my best pick. Elsewhere, I went with tried and tested talent of Mane, Hazard, Ramsey, Rooney and Aguero. All but Aguero got off to pretty terrible starts if I remember correctly. I still have no idea who Jurado is to be honest, but I needed a cheap enabler!

I won’t have been the only one without any Leicester. I did manage to jump on Mahrez in gw3, but it took me until gw12 to get on the Vardy train. Although, I think it was only in gw9 when Aguero got me 64 points as captain that I started moving up the rankings.

Lesson for next season

Don’t waste transfers. Easy to say but not that easy to do. Nevertheless, there are ways to minimise the risk of wasted transfers. Here are 5 that I have learnt the hard way this season:

  1. Don’t bring a player in who is a risk of rotation, this cost me in the final few weeks as I sought the fantasy potential of De Bruyne and Sturridge. I neglected the possibility that they could be benched and wasted several transfers.
  2. Don’t bring in a player who has recently come back from injury – I tried to jump on Aguero and Cech soon after their injuries, which also cost me few transfers.
  3. Don’t transfer out a player who is scoring well and not injured. Fabregas springs to mind, I should have hung onto the Spaniard instead of drafting in Siggurdsson and then De Bruyne and then Iwobi. Three transfers later and Fabregas probably outscored the lot.
  4. Don’t waste a transfer on a defender. I’m not sure on this one, there are certainly some cases where a defender transfer can pay off (Fuchs a couple of months ago), so I don’t like to have set rules like this and try to analyse the points potential of each trade. On the whole though, I probably wasted a few to many here (Smalling I’m looking at you)
  5. Lastly, prioritise transfers on captains. I did this effectively most of the season, but in the final few weeks I could have made better use of my transfers by bringing in captains instead of swapping out fit players.

Your team

What did you learn this season? How did your team finish? Did you win your mini-league? Did you win any cash? What was your starting 11 like? Let me know in the comments!

If you haven’t already, follow on Twitter and join our facebook group to be involved next season.

This will be my last post for a while, so thanks again for all the support and have a great summer.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Season Review 2015/16

  1. hrunny7 May 18, 2016 / 9:23 pm

    I came 4th and 5th in two of the SSFF leagues. I think the top5 get money, have you recieved yours yet?

    Like

    • theskyguru May 18, 2016 / 9:49 pm

      Great going! It usually takes 10 days to go into your skybet account

      Like

  2. SAM W May 19, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    A shocking final week for me saw me drop out of the money places in disables money league. That was the big one. Overall should be happy with an final rank of 57 but unable to reflect positively at the moment. I blame sanchez captain!

    My biggest mistake this season was wasting transfers in low scoring positions. I had 5 different goalkeepers this season. Far too many.

    My gameweek one team was also quite poor. Had Walcott and Cazorla ahead of Ozil. Had Hazard but I think everyone did at the start. My issue was keeping him for 13 weeks. Exactly the same as you Will with Mahrez and Vardy. Weeks 3 and 12.

    Also started the season with Rooney instead of Aguero due to the copa america. Didn’t miss any points as I transferred him in straight away but feel this was another wasted transfer.

    Still can’t believe Sanchez did’t score or assist at the weekend.

    Like

    • theskyguru May 20, 2016 / 2:39 pm

      Thats very unfortunate. But as you said, 57 overall rank is a great season, just a shame Sanchez let you down in the end.

      I usually get off to a bad start to be honest. I am hoping next season will be different, but I doubt it.

      I think a key for us finishing higher is nailing down a cheap defence and goalie early on that we can forget about. Not easy to do, but crucial for the rest of the team!

      Like

  3. ianp1970 May 20, 2016 / 5:50 pm

    A full Watford defence at the start of the season would have been very cheap yet highly effective until about November. Maybe one of the promoted sides will be similar next year…

    Like

    • theskyguru May 21, 2016 / 9:56 am

      Very true. Trick is knowing getting the right one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

