All Set gw2 – a solid start

A solid if unspectacular start as my team kicked off the season with 82 points. All three captains got a goal with Hazard bringing home the MOTM award and a tidy 26 point haul.

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 17.26.33.png

Rank: 3054
39 transfers left
£0.0 in the bank

I shifted my starting 11 around towards the end of last week, thinning out the defence enabling me to bring in Vardy up front as I kicked off the season in 343 formation. Vardy was unexpectedly taken off penalties and spurned several decent opportunities as he brought home a frustrating 2 points. Nevertheless I’m happy to have a leaner defence as it will enable my team to be more flexible as we move through the season.

Elsewhere Gueye chalked up a tidy 5 points and looks great value at £7.5m. Foster also seems good value at £6.1m while Tadic chipped in with a MOTM display and looks a good bet for the season.

Xhaka proved to be the biggest disappointment as he only made the bench. I had a feeling he may be eased in by Wenger but I plumped for him anyway. Having seen Xhaka benched, I then made a slightly rash decision to transfer him out for Noble in time for the Monday night clash with Chelsea. Priced the same and on pens he offers me a captain route for Sunday – although not a very exciting one.

Transfers and captain strategy 

I’ll kick of the weekend with Ibra on Friday then make the switch to Aguero or Hazard for Saturday. I’ll probably transfer Vardy out for Payet or Defoe in time for Sunday. The original plan was Payet but Defoe looks sharp and also offers me another captaincy option when Sunderland play host to Everton on the 12th September. Alternatively, I may just keep the transfer and stick the captaincy on Noble. Either way it’s likely to be a last minute decision Sunday morning.

The Watchlist 

Redmond – Looks great value. Not keen on doubling up on Southampton for now though.

Mane – One of my favourite players, I have him in my second team. Slight injury doubt for the weekend though.

Stones – Just three points for him this week but he looks set for passing bonus every match and I fancy City for the title. I’ll wait a few weeks before I consider a transfer on a defender though, especially as City are still getting used to Guardiola’s tactics and they don’t have great fixtures.

Others – Payet, Defoe, Mahrez, Negredo, Snodgrass, Cazorla

Whats your season goal?

After last season’s 29th place my aim is top 100 again this year and to win my cash leagues (45 of them!). Hopefully I’ll be inside the top 1000 by Christmas and can push on from there.

SFFF Leagues

Everyone is already playing catchup to last years overall winner Alan Wood. His team “FC Koban” scored a very impressive 104 points and takes the lead in both the cash and the free leagues. Just behind Alan is Mark Lambert‘s team “Bar with walls” on 102 as he slots into 2nd place in both Leagues.

These leagues are packed with high quality managers and will be very hard to win – but they also have a chance of scooping the league of league prizes. I slot into 14th place in the free league (out of 65) and 12th (out of 27th) in the cash league.

See league details, passwords and pins here.

If you’re new to the site, join in with the discussion on our growing facebook group and follow on twitter. Feel free to also ask a question or start a discussion in the comments section.

 

34 thoughts on “All Set gw2 – a solid start

  1. Justin0 August 18, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    That’s a great start, I managed a slightly less impressive 69 with the following:

    Courtois
    Baines Pieters Friend
    Hazard Xhaka Ayew Tadic Deulofeu
    Aguero Ibrahimovic

    My biggest concern for GW2 is who to bring in for Ayew. I’m considering the following options at the moment:

    – Redmond: Would have been great value but I already have Tadic so I’m wary of doubling up on Southampton’s attack
    – Lamela: Seems to be in good form but means I have to forego a decent captain this Sunday
    – Noble: Reliable if unexciting, potentially a good source of BPs
    – Feghouli/Tore: They offer the same appeal however there’s no way of knowing which will find themselves in the starting XI in any given week

    I could possibly even make two changes to bring in Payet somehow, though I’m leaning towards one of Lamela and Noble at the moment.

    Like

    • theskyguru August 18, 2016 / 8:36 pm

      Decent start.

      Hmmm that’s a tricky one. I think my preference would be Redmond but I can see why you don’t want to double up.

      Noble should tick along but is so dull I already regret getting him in. That said, he does offer you a captain and is probably the sensible route to take.

      Lamela is on for a good season but wont get bonus and attacking points will be split with Eriksen, Alli, Kane, Jansen etc.

      On balance I’d probably take the safe route with Noble… yawn

      Like

    • Justin0 August 21, 2016 / 9:41 pm

      Strangely Friend only picked up the Tier 1 bonus for tackles today, despite the Opta stats showing him as having made 5 successful tackles – not sure if I’m simply reading the stats or rules incorrectly there. I’m hoping it gets resolved, although it’ll only add two points to my overall so it’s not the biggest concern.

      Like

  2. Sam W August 18, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    I’m also fairly happy with 76 this week.
    Forster
    Stones Valencia Friend
    Hazard kouyate Townsend xhaka tadic
    Aguero Ibra

    Personally I can’t see Wenger leaving out xhaka again following last weeks shambolic defending. Happy to hold on to my transfers early on and feel like I’ve got most captain options already and have players that will be in demand. I fully intend to double tadic and Redmond when the fixtures turn.
    It seems that with the 5 transfers per week rule that I’m higher up the overall at this stage of the season. Could be that experienced players are in the top 1000 a lot earlier in the season this time.

    Like

    • theskyguru August 18, 2016 / 10:21 pm

      Great score Sam. Team looks very strong as well.

      My worry with Xhaka is that he was woeful when he came on. He may start but could also get subbed early – especially if he’s picked up a yellow – meaning he could miss out on bonus again. That said, long term he’s probably worth holding.

      Townsend looks like a good pick. Can’t believe he got 6 tackles!

      Agree with the 5 transfers – never had such a good starting rank.

      Like

      • Sam W August 18, 2016 / 10:29 pm

        I was shocked when I saw Townsend’s bonus was for tackles. When the points came in I presumed they were for shots on target!! Think he was close to bonus on those as well. Could be a source of surprise bonus points.

        Like

        • theskyguru August 18, 2016 / 10:33 pm

          Yep! Saw that Mane got tackle bonus as well. Not sure if they will be a one off – will have to keep tabs on them both

          Like

  3. Ian Parrin August 18, 2016 / 10:35 pm

    71 for me. Happy enough until Ayew got injured…

    Jakupovic
    Holebas Friend Nsue
    Hazard Ayew Tadic Firmino de Bruyne Aguero
    Aguero Ibrahimovic

    Liking Negredo as a replacement, but now Benteke is at CPL I’m tempted to go with Redmond in order to free up the necessary funds….

    Like

    • theskyguru August 18, 2016 / 10:41 pm

      Nice score Ian.

      Redmond and Negredo are both great options – maybe Negredo for captaincy?

      No plans to bring Benteke in for me – lets see how he settles in first. He’s definitely one to watch though!

      Like

  4. Ian Parrin August 18, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    3-6-2 is the new formation!

    Like

  5. Jared95 August 18, 2016 / 11:07 pm

    First time Sky player here, over the moon with 85 the first week. Not really sure what to aim for in my first season.

    Foster
    Baines Ward Friend
    Hazard Noble Tadic Mane Xhaka
    Aguero Ibra

    Obviously the Mane injury is a worry and I think it would be best to field 11 players. Any suggestions for 10.4?

    Thinking of a downgrade to someone like Lamela or an Everton mid (Looks difficult to predict who would be the best at the minute. Maybe Mirallas on corners?); to have money spare to upgrade Ward at some stage as I can’t see Palace keeping many clean sheets.

    Or am I thinking too much and should I leave Mane in and hope he plays?

    Thanks for the blog and any advice.

    Like

    • theskyguru August 19, 2016 / 8:11 am

      Brilliant start, especially as its your first time!

      Unless Mane is confirmed out for a few weeks I would 100% keep him. Transfers are precious in Sky and Mane looks to be an inspired pick – he could even play at the weekend.

      Ward and Palace have decent fixtures so I would hold for now – you also want to keep a lean defence so I wouldn’t upgrade at this stage.

      Like

      • Jared95 August 19, 2016 / 8:26 am

        Thanks for the response. Not sure really how to manage transfers so will try and be patient.

        Happy enough for the weekend with 2 decent captain choices then the dull Noble on Sunday.

        Good luck!

        Like

        • theskyguru August 19, 2016 / 8:46 am

          Best to save transfers for long term injuries, players who are not starting, players who have no form and (most crucially) captains.

          That said, as long as you stick to roughly one per week you’ll be doing fine.

          Good luck for the weekend!

          Like

        • Jared95 August 19, 2016 / 9:23 am

          Thanks for the replies, especially good to hear from people who know what they are doing. It’ll take me a while to understand Sky.

          Think I’ll keep Mane then, good luck at the weekend!

          Like

      • Justin0 August 19, 2016 / 9:08 am

        To add to this, Everton signed Bolasie a few days ago, and Mirallas’ position looks to be under the most threat. If Mirallas ends up being rotated, or even loses his starting spot, you’ll be kicking yourself endlessly if you brought him in for Mane, who I expect to be bringing in the points barring further injury.

        In terms of Mane’s own situation, Klopp at the press conference said “I have no idea if he can play on the weekend or not but I don’t think it will take a long time”. So he’s a big doubt but he has a late fitness test as a deciding factor. I would guess he’ll be back next week, or after the international break at the latest.

        Like

  6. hrunny7 August 19, 2016 / 11:16 am

    I’ve started off well, but I’m not going to get ahead of myself. I was thinking of changing to cazorla at some point but he may have a chronic achilles injury. Payet or Mahrez is the big choice for me, I’ll probably choose the wrong one

    Like

    • Will August 19, 2016 / 12:56 pm

      If you don’t have a decent cap for Sunday, surely has to be Payet

      Like

  7. Dan August 21, 2016 / 12:05 am

    Got a dilemma guys

    Currently on 153 points

    Punted on Musa and needless to say I think I should of waited to see how he did first. I really want a West Ham player for captain tomorrow so the options are..

    Musa>carroll or
    Musa>payet & downgrade Dann to Dawson/McCauley because I would be 0.2m short or 11m for payet

    Palace have good fixtures and I have Townsend but can’t see them getting many clean sheets.

    Swayed towards the latter option ATM

    Any thoughts would be welcomes cheers!

    Like

    • Will August 21, 2016 / 10:11 am

      Thats a toughy. Do you have a captain for today if you don’t make a trade?

      My preference would be Payet move but he’s not guaranteed to start. Also Dann could boss his next game.

      Carroll could be decent bet short term but you would want a plan to move him on at some point so that’s 2 transfers… the same as Payet move…

      Like

    • Justin0 August 21, 2016 / 10:14 am

      I’d be very careful of both those options, there are some whispers of Carroll having been injured and Payet not starting today: http://www.thewesthamway.co.uk/2016/08/20/exwhuemployee-transfer-injury-round/

      I’m on a mobile at the moment so can’t offer much more of a breakdown than to say keep an eye on Ben Dinnery’s Twitter feed for a more reliable report on the situation.

      Like

  8. Dan August 21, 2016 / 11:51 am

    Cheers fellas!

    I have friend for boro but can see Sunderland winning so is it worth putting captaincy on him? Defoe looks sharp which worries me!

    The other/safest option is Noble and then get rid for Mane at some point as I think he’ll have a good season.

    Agree with Dann he could easily get some points next game & and if there is doubts over payet not starting I definitely won’t take that route

    Like

  9. Cian August 21, 2016 / 7:42 pm

    Howya lads,

    Anyone else waste a precious transfer on bringing payet in and then captain him like I have?
    It’s the worse feeling ever when you hear the team news and the lad you bought in doesn’t even make the bench ! Aw well theres always next weekend I suppose ha !

    Like

    • Hornetto August 21, 2016 / 8:56 pm

      Yep, probably quite a few of us! I wasn’t aware of the chat that he might not play. Some teams would have had Payet in front the start, so not such a bad feeling. I transferred him in to take Ayew’s place. Still, after MCY, Hammers have some good fixtures and a Monday night game, so I think he is definitely one to have ready for those games ahead. A long long time to go!

      Like

  10. Dan August 22, 2016 / 10:04 am

    Have no West Ham, had a bad feeling about them with the injuries, did friend captain and he got a tackle bonus so worked out ok

    Like

  11. Ian Parrin August 22, 2016 / 8:09 pm

    Went with Negredo for Ayew in the end.

    Very happy with a weekly score over 100🙂

    Like

    • Dan August 22, 2016 / 9:03 pm

      Good call!

      Like

    • Will August 23, 2016 / 11:09 am

      Brilliant score Ian! Well done!

      Like

  12. Cian August 23, 2016 / 10:26 pm

    what’s happening with gray lads? will he be getting a match ban now and what matches will he likely miss?

    Like

    • Dan August 24, 2016 / 11:48 am

      Just a fine I think

      Like

  13. Cian August 24, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    Yeh hopefully, anything else would be criminal !!!

    Like

  14. Dan August 25, 2016 / 10:18 am

    George Friend owners, what we doing with him?

    Like

Leave a Reply

