GW6 – Romelu

After pondering several Aguero replacements, last week I opted for Aguero > Antonio for Saturday followed by Noble > Lukaku on Monday. Having both as captain they combined to score a tidy 82 points as I my team jumped into the top 500. This was despite slipping back to 3,500 after Costa grabbed a brace on Sunday – demonstrating just how volatile rank movements can be at this stage of the season.

screen-shot-2016-09-15-at-10-41-37

Week points:116
Total points: 344
Rank: 419
Transfers left: 35
Money in the bank: 1.5m

Williams also joined my ranks as I picked the Wales captain over Baines as my Pieters replacement. A special mention should go to Pieters as he has probably been my worst ever pick, tallying up -3 points over 4 games. Williams over Baines was a close call but I have a niggling feeling that Baines might pick up an injury at some stage. Still, they are both great options and I may even double up on the duo at some stage.

Elsewhere, Tadic is struggling to earn points but I feel he has been pretty unlucky and is playing well so I’m holding onto him for now. That said, Cazorla, Mane and Firmino’s points are tempting me. I’m also planning on making a move for Capoue next week, although this will probably be for Defoe as I look to free up funds and move to 352 for the long term.

Fuchs and Leicester are failing to live up to last years defensive heroics and I fear it may be due to a lack of Kante. Still, Fuchs has a good fixture this week, so will keep his place for now.

After being dropped and unlikely to win his place back, Nsue will be ditched soon. Smith (5.8) and Holebas (5.5) look the best cheap alternatives. Although I may splash the cash and upgrade to someone around the 7m mark. Either way, I won’t make the trade this week as Smith and Holebas have horrible fixtures and I don’t have the money to upgrade to a more expensive option at the moment.

So many options

Usually, at this stage of the year, a firm template would have developed amongst experienced players. This time round there are SO many options to consider. With Liverpool and Spurs players joining the party last week, we have a glut of fantasy talent to choose form. It makes for an exciting season with lots of variation and likely big swings in rank.

One of the keys though, will be keeping a leash on your transfer activity. As I have a few planned next week and splurging 3 last week, I’ll tighten the ship and avoid spending any this time round.

Captain Strategy.

Hazard seems to prefer home comforts so I hope he can produce the goods against an impressive looking Liverpool team at Stamford Bridge. Lukaku has the fixture and form ahead of Saturday’s clash with newly promoted Middlesbrough. It will then be a toss up between Ibra or Tadic on Sunday, I’ll likely play safe and go with the big swede.

SFFF Leagues

Sean Tobin’s “Detroit 442” is still holding top spot in the cash league on 361 points. Neil Fleeson’s “Roumeli Rangers” jumps to 2nd spot, as I sneak into 3rd. In the free league, Abdul Rehman’s “Insane in DeBruyne” holds top spot with 359, closely followed by Oliver Brown‘s “Oliver’s Army” in 2nd place. Richard Chuter‘s “Come on U Horns” shot up to 5th in the free league with the highest weekly tally of 132.

See league details, passwords and pins here.

If you’re new to the site, join in with the discussion on our growing facebook group and follow on twitter. Feel free to also ask a question or start a discussion in the comments section.

 

50 thoughts on “GW6 – Romelu

  1. Justin0 September 15, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    I’m still not convinced Capoue can sustain his current output. His average position shows him playing quite deep and his career history doesn’t scream prolific. Though I can agree he’s worth keeping an eye on given his price. My team’s starting to settle, with the only sure transfer this week being Xhaka -> Cazorla:

    Courtois
    Baines Dawson Friend
    Hazard Tadic Redmond Xhaka Gueye
    Ibrahimovic Lukaku

    I also plan on doing Redmond -> Antonio, although with Southampton home to Swansea and West Ham away to West Brom, I’m thinking that’s a transfer best left till the next game week.

    Like

    • Will September 15, 2016 / 2:53 pm

      Capoue won’t sustain his current output, I’m sure of that. I don’t think he needs to though, at 7.8 I’d be happy if he averaged 4-6 points per game. That said, I’m not sure I’ll bring him in but I’ll need someone for the bur vs. wat match. Who are you thinking of bringing in for that match?

      Like

      • Justin0 September 15, 2016 / 7:21 pm

        At the minute, I’m thinking Friend -> Holebas and committing the cardinal sin of captaining a defender. Deeney is another option, however I’ve found Watford to be more reliable defensively than in attack (with the exception of Ighalo’s freak run of form last season).

        Friend isn’t performing as well as I’d hoped, Watford’s fixtures become very kind starting with the Burnley game, and the downgrade allows me to do Tadic to either Mane/Firmino if he continues to struggle.

        Like

        • Will September 15, 2016 / 8:00 pm

          I think there are going to be some strange captaincies with the new rules this year. Not ruling out a Holebas captain myself yet. I’ll almost certainly go for a watford player – Deeney is another decent shout. Will have to scout them this weekend!

          Like

          • Dan September 16, 2016 / 1:02 pm

            I don’t think if Watford will be as reliable defensively this season

            Like

        • hrunny7 September 16, 2016 / 7:21 am

          I don’t know what to do with Friend either, i will have to look for a new defender. Not many good ones around though

          Like

  2. hutman September 15, 2016 / 3:36 pm

    Interesting, why do you opt for the 352 as the preferred formation?

    Like

    • Will September 15, 2016 / 5:29 pm

      Good question. The simple answer is that mids are better value – they are cheaper and have more opportunities for points. They also score more bonus and are more likely to pick up MOM awards.

      For a far more detailed and thorough analyses see this excellent post from Disable last year: http://www.fantasyfootballscout.co.uk/2015/07/31/sky-sports-analysis-the-formations/

      I know many who play 352 religiously, I tend to be a bit more flexible and switch between 343 and 352 depending on form and fixtures but there is definitely more value in midfield. A glance at the prices and its easy to see – just look at Hazard and Defoe being almost the same price.

      Like

    • Justin0 September 15, 2016 / 7:25 pm

      343 and 352 are the more common formations, given the low scoring output of defenders. The general rule I try to use in order to decide between them is to go 343 if I have the budget to spare, otherwise 352. With Ibrahimovic and Aguero looking excellent this season I can see myself relying on midfielders more than an extra striker given that the pair will take up a huge allotment of the 100m.

      Like

  3. Sam W September 15, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    114 for me this week and just outside the top thousand. Cazorla and Lukaku my captains bringing in a large chunk. 36 transfers left after using 4 last week.

    I’m struggling to justify a Watford or Burnley player as I’m not sure its worth the transfer as I need to get a credible West Ham option as well because Kouyate isn’t bringing in bonus points like I expected. I also have Xhaka who is keeping a seat warm for Antonio. Looking to move these two on and really want Gueye who looks like a cheap Fabregas/Cazorla.

    Leaves me with Townsend being the only likely player to shift for Capoue and I’m not sure I want to lose him at this stage as he’s regularly churning out bonus, has Benteke’s head to aim at and scores his fair share when he gets a run.

    Anyone got any thoughts?

    Like

    • Will September 15, 2016 / 7:56 pm

      Its not easy as I wouldn’t usually go near Burnley or Watford. If you don’t fancy anyone, I think its a fair call to ignore both teams. You have a week to mull over a townsend switch in any case

      Like

  4. hrunny7 September 16, 2016 / 7:24 am

    Not quite happy with my team yet. I fear for Redmond at the moment. I’ll be swapping him probably for a Watford player but I’d rather not

    Like

  5. hutman September 16, 2016 / 8:48 am

    Stones > Baines
    Townsend > Gueye
    Defoe> Lukaku

    Thoughts?

    Like

  6. Dan September 16, 2016 / 9:40 am

    I think deeney could be a good shout lads. I’m considering him

    Like

  7. Paul J September 16, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    Is everyone looking at Hazard for the Captaincy tonight?

    I have a dilemma in that I have choices in both teams:
    Team 1 – Hazard or Costa
    Team 2 – Hazard or Mane

    Hazard seems the safe option but Costa has form and Mane vs Chelsea defence could be very interesting.

    Like

    • Dan September 16, 2016 / 1:50 pm

      I’ve done Hazard in team 1 & Firmino in team 2

      Like

    • ianp1970 September 16, 2016 / 4:28 pm

      I’ve gone Hazard for no better reason than Chelsea are at home.

      Like

  8. ianp1970 September 16, 2016 / 1:41 pm

    I have the good fortune to be on holiday til Sept. 26th so any activity will be kept to a minimum!

    Like

  9. ianp1970 September 16, 2016 / 1:41 pm

    I have the good fortune to be on holiday til Sept. 26th so any activity will be kept to a minimum!

    Like

  10. Dan September 16, 2016 / 1:49 pm

    I was orinally going to do Barkley>Mane but Watford having good fixtures and captaincy options, I can’t afford Deeney but I can Ighalo, big punt but it could pay off.

    Like

  11. Paul J September 17, 2016 / 6:46 am

    Anyone concerned with not having any Man City coverage today?

    With 2 blanks on the bounce and difficult fixtures to come, is it time to consider dropping Hazard? Could get KdB/Sterling or for similar money, would a shift to 3-4-3 be better value with the likes of Benteke/Nolito or even Deeney at similar price points?

    Like

    • Hornetto September 17, 2016 / 7:42 am

      Yep, KDB looks a much better bet at the moment – in form, good fixtures = lots of points. Problem will be cash and a second transfer (Watford?) to get him in………a few hours to ponder!

      Like

  12. Dan September 17, 2016 / 9:29 am

    No standout captaincy options on my second team today,
    A.steklenburg
    B.barkley
    C.kouyate

    Swayed towards A and hope for a cleanie 😬

    Like

  13. hrunny7 September 17, 2016 / 11:28 am

    I’m burning through transfers, somebody stop me

    Like

    • Dan September 17, 2016 / 11:44 am

      How many you used and are you happy with your team now?

      Like

      • hrunny7 September 17, 2016 / 12:24 pm

        Friend has to go, so does Nsue. I’m happy. I have to get rid of barkley and lukaku at some point and redmond though. So it’s ok. I’ll stop my transfers soon🙂

        Like

        • Dan September 18, 2016 / 3:57 pm

          So half your team? Lol

          Like

  14. Dan September 19, 2016 / 3:20 pm

    Very tempted to do zlat>kun & keep Lukaku

    Like

    • Hornetto September 19, 2016 / 7:09 pm

      I think that could be a good move! Zlat has some pretty decent home fixtures to come though and you might feat a backlash against a hopeless Stoke side?

      Like

      • Dan September 19, 2016 / 10:59 pm

        That’s the only game I’m scared of but I’m confident Lukaku will outscore Zlat this season

        Like

        • ianp1970 September 20, 2016 / 8:14 am

          Following the Stoke game is probably the best time to ship him out. United play Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal in 3 of their next 4 after that.

          Like

  15. ianp1970 September 19, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    With my current back 4 (Jakupovic, Nsue, Friend, Holebas) all still playing and only costing 21.3, I am now looking to get something like:

    KDB 11.8
    Hazard 11.2
    Firmino 10.8
    Gueye 7.5 (transfer in)

    Lukaku 12.0
    Aguero 13.0 (transfer in)
    Sanchez 12.4 (transfer in)

    Will have to take a look at the fixtures to see when best to bring them in…

    Like

  16. hutman September 20, 2016 / 12:17 pm

    im not convinced on kun… he’s got cl fixtures sandwiched, namely barcelona. he may pick up injuries or be rested. similar situation with KDB but hes seems less injury/rest prone.

    troy deeney is the striker im considering or firmino/mane

    Like

    • ianp1970 September 20, 2016 / 6:25 pm

      Will be the goto option for captaincy for most I would expect….

      Like

    • Hornetto September 20, 2016 / 6:25 pm

      I see your points Hutman, but I’m not sure I can go from match to match without him in, starting at Swansea this weekend. He’s in hot form right now and as a captain quite capable of nailing 50 points. If you go without him, I’d admire your nerve!!!

      Like

      • Dan September 20, 2016 / 11:06 pm

        That’s what I’m thinking and Zlat may let us down if Man U don’t start playing like a team, could see kun bagging vs spurs as well. Can’t justify getting rid of Lukaku with his form and fixtures

        Like

  17. Will September 22, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    Sorry folks, no time for a post this week. Good luck for the weekend

    Like

    • Justin0 September 22, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      Terrible news! Any chance you can drop a comment here to let us know which transfers you plan to make this weekend?

      Like

      • Will September 23, 2016 / 8:49 am

        No plans at the moment… Been one of those weeks where I have been so busy that I have not even thought about fantasy football! I’m hoping to have a closer look tomorrow

        Like

  18. Hornetto September 22, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    Good luck, Will, to you…..

    Like

  19. ianp1970 September 24, 2016 / 7:29 am

    If you haven’t brought Aguero back yet, who’s your captain?

    I’m in that boat, and it’s KDB for me🙂

    Like

  20. Hornetto September 24, 2016 / 8:21 am

    I’m still chewing it over, Ian……but my thinking is City are red hot atm and you know Aguero has 50 point potential today with a bit of unrest at the Swans, so it’s an early return for him for me with KDB and Mane in there as well.
    Ibra might come good, as I expect he will – I wouldn’t be surprised if my moves back-fire but such is life when you make these types of transfers……anyway, good luck to you!

    Like

  21. Dan September 24, 2016 / 5:25 pm

    Happy with the early kun transfer

    Like

  22. hutman September 26, 2016 / 9:21 am

    low scoring week – chose to trust my instincts on keeping away from kun and ignore it for choosing firmino over coutinho. Suffered losses on both – and Defoe rubbed my face in it further!

    Like

    • Will September 26, 2016 / 9:42 am

      I got burnt by Defoe (out) and Firmino (in) also. Think Firmino will come good though

      Like

  23. Dan September 26, 2016 / 2:04 pm

    Anyone got any Watford tonight?

    Like

    • Will September 26, 2016 / 2:26 pm

      Think I’m just going Nsue > Holebas (if he starts) and have a very dodgy captain

      Like

      • Dan September 26, 2016 / 4:44 pm

        Contemplating the same, Friend needs to go

        Like

    • Sam W September 26, 2016 / 6:17 pm

      I got capoue last week as part of my aguero back strategy which allowed me to keep lukaku and ibra for the time being. Don’t expect his run of goals to carry on much longer but he does get a steady stream of tackle bonus too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

