Elephant in the room..

Hi all,

The international break is finally over and we have 3 matchdays of football to look forward to. Both Sergio Aguero and Alexis Sanchez have played more minutes than many would have liked over the break, but I won’t be letting that worry me too much heading into a couple of excellent fixtures…

Season Points: 582
Overall position: 119
Transfers remaining: 31

sky

My Team

I’m pretty happy with my team for the week, I have 3 solid captain choices available across the week and the rest my team have decent enough fixtures. There is an elephant in the room though in the considerable frame of Zlatan Ibrahimovic. My lack of Arsenal cover has reached the red zone and I feel like I have to make a move this week, given their next 3 are Swansea (H), Boro (H) and Sunderland (A). In that time Ibrahimovic faces trips to Liverpool (A) and Chelsea (A) before a solid looking home fixture against Burnley – none of which require him as a captaincy option. So I’m likely to bring in Sanchez, who I expect to start this week, tomorrow morning. I also think Theo Walcott is an excellent option at the moment for those looking for cover without the funds to splash on Sanchez.

Captain Strategy

It’s a pretty simple route this week for me. Aguero will lead the charge on Saturday, some may have doubts about his fitness or worries about potential rotation but I don’t think it’s worth the gamble to look elsewhere. When Aguero is fit he starts, there may be the odd exception but I don’t think this week will be one of them, even with Barcelona to come in midweek. I think at this stage it’s about managing risk with captaincies, and it would be a huge one to take it away from Aguero at home.

Saturday will see the armband move to Dusan Tadic, for a good looking fixture against Burnley. With a goal and a MoM bonus in his last two and a MoM/2 assist performance for Serbia in midweek he’s clearly in excellent form. I don’t think it will be long before he starts hoovering up the MoM awards.

Monday night is another easy decision with Firmino in what I think could be a high scoring game at Anfield. As I said in my column last week, I think it’s essential to ensure you have a captain for every matchday – this will be how the bulk of my remaining 30 transfers will likely be used.

On the radar

Adam Smith (DEF) – 1 goal, 1 clean sheet & 2 bonus in his last 4, not exactly been pulling up trees so far but 3 home fixtures in the next 4 make him a good budget option if you’re looking to downgrade or guarantee minutes at just 5.8.

Theo Walcott (MID) – 2 goals, an assist & 4 bonus in his last 4, Arsenal’s fixtures could well warrant a double up with Sanchez, otherwise a reasonably priced route in at 9.4.

Heung-Min Son (FWD) – 4 goals, 3 MoM bonus and an assist in his last 4. Threatened by Kane’s imminent return but should retain a place somewhere in the forward line, something of a bargain at 9.3.

Time to say goodbye

Leighton Baines (DEF) – 1 clean sheet and 4 bonus coupled with two no-shows in the last 4, with 3 away fixtures in the next 4, I think at 7.3 you’re overpaying for a player no longer on penalties and seemingly more injury prone than ever before.

Riyad Mahrez (MID) – Just 1 assist to show for his last 4 matches, at 11.0 it’s time to move him on, especially given the amount of midfield options on fire at the moment.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (FWD) – Incredibly still in 37% of teams despite only scoring 1 in the last 4. At 12.2 and with Costa & Sanchez proving much more enticing options it’s surely time to bite the bullet and move him on.

How is your team looking for the week? What’s your captain plan – leave a comment below!

 

21 thoughts on “Elephant in the room..

  1. Paul J October 14, 2016 / 9:24 pm

    Hi Lewis, thought I had messaged previously but it appears not so welcome and thanks for taking up the reigns. Would have been a sad loss to the sky FF community but judging by your rank, you certainly have the right pedigree to carry on from Will.

    Now to business….ha! Im almost 80 points behind you already so could do with a nudge in the right direction

    Stekelenberg
    Baines, Holebas, Friend
    Cazorla, Mane, Antonio, Gueye
    Aguero, Sanchez, Lukaku

    1.8 ITB, 31 transfers remaining

    I have several issues with the GK/Def, an over reliance on Everton, and the lack of a decent captaincy option for Sunday (Think I’ll go Sanchez (c) over Aguero and then Mane for Monday)

    All need addressing but I dont want to keep burning through too many transfers so I’m hoping you might have some suggestions? Currently top of my local cash league & would like to keep it that way;)

    Thanks in advance Lewis

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 14, 2016 / 9:40 pm

      Hi Paul, thanks for the comment.

      Yes I think 4 Everton is too much, even though they offer good value. I think Baines should be the one to go, you could look at Van Dijk as a solid long term pick, with Smith & C Davies potential cheap value options. Holebas & Friend are at least getting starts so I wouldn’t be touching them.

      As for captain, it’s a tricky one the way you are setup. Lukaku the only one who could make way for maybe Tadic but I think Lukaku is a long term pick I wouldn’t mess with. Van Dijk would give you a decent option – can’t see Burnley scoring on Sunday.

      Like

  2. hrunny7 October 14, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    I have to get rid of baines but I just don’t know who to get instead. The defence has been really strange for me so far

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 14, 2016 / 9:42 pm

      Yeah it’s not easy in defence. My suggestion would be just pick one of the cheap starters and stick with them.

      Like

  3. Dan October 14, 2016 / 11:00 pm

    Alright Lewis, nice work mate.

    Any tips on this
    Cech
    Baines Williams holebas
    Sterling Townsend Walcott cazorla mane
    Kun kaku

    Really want baines out and would like mustafi but would have to downgrade cazorla to snoddgrass who I think is great budget option with good fixtures, any reason why not?

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 14, 2016 / 11:11 pm

      Hi mate.

      Yeah Baines the obvious one to go. Those are solid moves, double Arsenal def could work a treat – they look very solid with Mustafi in there. What’s your plan for Sunday captain? Anyway you can afford Tadic or Redmond over Snodd?

      Like

  4. Dan October 14, 2016 / 11:39 pm

    I’d love Tadic not keen on redmond, only £7.8m spare but as you say double Arsenal defence could work a treat… hopefully 😬

    Like

    • Dan October 14, 2016 / 11:41 pm

      Only have Holebas for Sunday & probably won’t captain him

      Like

  5. Will October 15, 2016 / 7:51 am

    Great read Lewis and thanks for taking over the mantal!

    You are having a stormer of a season. I like the Sanchez switch and would do the same if I wasn’t 0.1 short. Will have to find a big sofa for the Arsenal match and hope Ibra can pull through his next couple of fixtures and deliver on those underlying stats.

    Good luck for the weekend all!

    Like

  6. Ian Parrin October 15, 2016 / 2:03 pm

    Not a great start to this weekend, forgot I was supposed to be bringing in Kun for Ibra😦

    Have Benteke as captain today, probably a defender tomorrow and Firmino on Monday.

    Heaton
    Cook S
    Friend
    Holebas
    Sterling
    Walcott
    Firmino
    Mane
    Benteke
    Lukaku
    Ibrahimovic

    Good luck everyone🙂

    Like

    • Dan October 15, 2016 / 4:32 pm

      Great stuff Ian as Kun has got -2 and I’ve got him captain haha

      Like

    • Paul J October 16, 2016 / 12:18 pm

      Which defender are you going for today Ian? I have the same choice & am leaning towards Holebas.

      Like

  7. Dan October 16, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    I can’t believe I’m saying this but Holebas has saved my week.

    Like

  8. Ian Parrin October 16, 2016 / 4:35 pm

    Guess who I picked as skipper out of Friend and Holebas…

    Like

    • Dan October 16, 2016 / 6:00 pm

      Holebas surely

      Like

  9. ianp1970 October 16, 2016 / 10:48 pm

    Well done to those that did🙂 I didn’t😦

    Like

  10. Dinhosaur October 17, 2016 / 6:14 am

    Who do we think between Ibra or Mane for captain?

    Also hi Lewis, thanks for taking over the mantle, look forward to reading throughout the season.!

    Like

  11. hutman October 17, 2016 / 9:08 am

    all the kun mugs got bailed out by holebas i see

    Like

    • Justin0 October 19, 2016 / 1:47 pm

      There were plenty who went with Tadic/Redmond. I’d think Holebas was the pick for a very small minority.

      Like

  12. hrunny7 October 17, 2016 / 1:21 pm

    Next week’s captains are going to be difficult. How do you know Ibrahimovic has 37% ownership, I can’t see it in the members section of fpl or anywhere else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

