Penalised

Well, that was an interesting gameweek…

It was a week of fails on the captain front. The gameweek couldn’t have gotten off to a worse start with my captain Aguero benched, especially unlucky in hindsight considering he didn’t even start in the Nou Camp on Wednesday either – so wasn’t being rested for that. Of course we all know how Aguero’s sub appearance turned out, a missed penalty and a -4 captaincy, great start. Saturday was otherwise unremarkable with just an assist from Sanchez brightening the picture.

Sunday was something of an improvement, Holebas coming out of nowhere to get a goal, clean sheet and bonus for 16 very welcome points – (he can consider himself very unlucky not to get the MoM award to) those 16 points more than doubled my Saturday score. I opted to captain Dusan Tadic in a good home fixture but it was frustration all round, 7 shots (4 on target), 6 key passes and a dominating performance returned just 6 points as captain. Won’t be scared to captain him again in the future on this showing.

Monday night saw me captain Bobby Firmino in a match which saw basically nothing happen. He did sneak a tackle bonus though so all wasn’t lost. Scoring just 44 points I thought the damage would’ve been much worse but a drop of around 100 places isn’t the end of the world.

ff

Gameweek Points: 44
Season Points: 626
Overall Position: 230
Transfers Remaining: 30

My Team

Whilst I’m relatively happy with my team, I think I’m going to make a double change this week in order to pounce on Theo Walcott’s form. I can move out Petr Cech & Etienne Capoue and bring in Tom Heaton & Theo, and that’s likely what I’ll do. Walcott looks a completely different player this season – he is unquestionably nailed on, which he hasn’t been in the past & the positions he’s getting in in the box are likely to wield more points going forward. Whilst I would never usually make a Goalkeeper change unless forced to, Cech to Heaton saves me a huge chunk of cash which can be used elsewhere, and Heaton seems to be hoovering up save points even when not keeping clean sheets. It also allows me to have a formidable looking midfield – Sterling, Walcott, Tadic, Gueye & Firmino so I think it’s worth the gamble.

These transfers would take me down to 28 remaining though, is this too many used at this stage? How many transfers do you have remaining?

Captain Plan

It seems like an easy one this week, Alexis Sanchez is on fire at the moment with 3 goals, 2 assists and a MoM in his last 4, he’s the standout choice for Saturday’s fixtures for me. Sunday I’ll make the switch to Sergio Aguero and I don’t think I will be alone…he should be well-rested after cameos in City’s last two. Let’s just hope he doesn’t get another penalty!

What are your plans for the week? Leave a comment below

16 thoughts on “Penalised

  1. Paul J October 21, 2016 / 11:27 am

    Don’t think you’ll be alone on the Theo transfer Lewis. He’s one I’m certainly looking at, albeit in a slightly sideways move as a replacement for the potentially injured Cazorla.

    Would appreciate some help with my other move though – what to do with Leighton Baines?! I’ve had been holding since the start but this injury he has just won’t seem go away. Any suggestions for a fire and forget option?

    My other defenders are Holebas (saved my week as Sunday’s captain) and Friend (not great, but he’s cheap and plays) and am not overly keen on a shift to Williams due to having an over exposure to Everton (4 players including Baines).

    Cheers

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 21, 2016 / 11:37 am

      Hi Paul, yep Theo will be a popular one, just wish I’d done it last week! I think a sideways move is fine.

      Yep I think there are a lot of people stuck with Baines, seriously unlucky but if it were me I would be moving him out. Albeit minus points are a threat I think Adam Smith of Bournemouth is a good option, couple of assists this season and a 90 minute man.

      Like

      • Paul J October 22, 2016 / 2:25 pm

        Did Baines -> Smith so definitely no complaints there & Cazorla was a no show so the Walcott move should be worth it now too.

        Thanks Lewis

        Like

    • Justin0 October 21, 2016 / 11:53 am

      Ha, just saw this conversation after submitting my own comment and it’s almost identical to my own question. Right now I’m leaning towards Baines -> Smith and Cazorla/Antonio -> Walcott, but that can easily change overnight.

      Like

  2. Justin0 October 21, 2016 / 11:50 am

    Thanks for the write-up, Lewis! I’ve been weighing up a potential double change for this weekend and I was hoping some of the guys here could help prod me in the right direction. My team as it stands:

    Courtois
    Baines Dawson Holebas
    Cazorla Sterling Mane Antonio Gueye
    Aguero Lukaku

    Transfers remaining: 30

    I’m looking at dropping Baines for Smith and then upgrading one of Cazorla (possible achilles) or Antonio (waning form). Walcott and Sanchez are both options, although Antonio -> Sanchez would leave exactly nothing ITB. I guess it boils down to three questions:- Should I make the changes at all? Who should go out of Cazorla and Antonio? Who should replace them? Any help would be appreciated!

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 21, 2016 / 2:40 pm

      I would do Sanchez in for Cazorla & captain him.
      As for Baines, as above, good time to do the moves, A Smith the man for the job imo

      Like

  3. hrunny7 October 21, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    Nicky Butt used to get penalised a lot too. The transfers are a worry, it feels like 28 is too many used but I think everyone is in the same boat. I’ve looked at the fixtures and realistically you could make it to about december 3rd with using only 1 or 2 transfers more – that is gameweek 15 in fpl terms.

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 21, 2016 / 2:42 pm

      Yeah I’m be delighted with my midfield once these moves are done. I’ve then got 3 starting defs & keeper who should all be fixed. Always like to use as few transfers as possible between nowsih and Christmas, then let loose.

      Like

  4. Deano October 21, 2016 / 4:12 pm

    First post, so hello Lewis and well done for taking on this excellent blog with such aplomb and maintaining Will’s high standards.

    For what it’s worth, I think 28 is plenty for injuries/suspensions and facilitation of match day captains. By my reckoning, there are 25/26 game weeks left, and unless you have horrendous luck with injuries, surely 1 a week will suffice? Probably too few for major team overhauls, mind.

    I say that with a vested interest as I am currently sitting 14th but with only 24 left.Captaining Walcott & Austin propelled this team from 600 odd last weekend which also reflects the fluctuating nature of the game.

    A word of caution here, I am notorious for my ‘hare’ approach so best to ignore me on the subject of transfers, I also currently have teams 1st & 3rd in TFF and I didn’t get there through reticence!

    Like

  5. Dinhosaur October 21, 2016 / 4:33 pm

    Those seem good moves. I also have Antonio –> Walcott locked in. My Ibrahimovic replacement however is giving me a headache. My options are Austin (Form but bad fixtures), Sterling (Solid long term option with rotation risk) or Bony (Maverick and would give me a captain for Stoke vs Swansea). Any views would be appreciated🙂

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen October 21, 2016 / 4:36 pm

      I would rather a premium midfielder than Bony or Austin. Can you stretch to Lukaku or Sanchez or is this move to make way for Antonio -> Walcott?
      Of the above I’d go for Sterling, don’t think there is a huge degree of rotation risk tbh, he’s pretty integral to Guardiola’s system.

      Like

      • Dinhosaur October 21, 2016 / 6:30 pm

        The move is a way to make room for the Walcott switch. Annoyingly it leaves me 0.1 off of KDB. The money from Ibra stretches to Hazard, Payet, Firmino or Sterling. This move is proving far more difficult than it should. Just an awkward amount of money to spend. I could use another transfer to free up funds but that would leave me with 27. Decisions decisions, thanks for the reply!

        Like

        • Dinhosaur October 22, 2016 / 9:00 pm

          I got Sterling and Walcott in eventually. Hope everyone has had a good GW so far.

          Like

  6. Ian Parrin October 22, 2016 / 10:42 am

    Thinking of Ibrahimovic to Sanchez today, followed by Benteke to KDB tomorrow. Would leave me with this team:

    Heaton

    Cook S
    Friend
    Holebas

    Sterling
    Walcott
    Firmino
    Mane
    de Bruyne

    Lukaku
    Sanchez

    0.1 ITB
    30 Transfers

    Like

  7. Dan October 26, 2016 / 4:10 pm

    Losing faith with sterling & Austin looks a great pick with the fixtures

    Like

    • Dan October 26, 2016 / 4:15 pm

      After liv game

      Like

Leave a Reply

