Treading Water

Another week, another drop down the rankings. Whilst it wasn’t as disastrous as the week prior, it was still another week of frustration for myself & many others. 

Saturday was pretty much a non-event, it got off to a bad start with both Sanchez & Walcott blanking in the early fixture -never good. A Charlie Daniels clean sheet was pretty much the highlight, with captain Aguero offering nothing. I decided to hold off on bringing Coutinho in last week, with the uncertainty about him starting. Luckily enough he blanked for the first time in a while, he’ll be coming in this week for the plum fixture against Sunderland. 

Sunday was another disappointment and another captain fail. Eden Hazard played well & registered his most key passes of the season but returned the minimum of 4 as captain. It was tough viewing watching Costa score again, my reluctantce to bring him in whilst on 4 yellows has cost me more goals than I care to think about. Elsewhere in that game Alonso looked incredible, he’s basically playing as a LW/Left forward, and Chelsea are solid as a rock. I won’t shift from my ultra cheap defence but I wouldn’t put anyone off getting him in, goals are surely on the way. 

Monday’s fixture brought a bit more cheer to proceedings, with Craig Dawson showing Aguero & Hazard how it’s done bringing home a nice clean sheet & 14 points as captain. Unfortunately I seem to have cursed Tom Heaton since bringing him in last week, and he’s now on an ugly -2 for the 2 games I’ve owned him. 

Overall Points: 870 

Position: 491

Transfers: 26



My Team

A no show from Dusan Tadic last week confirmed his fate for me, he’s out this week. Similarly another blank from Walcott has put him over the edge. Arsenal simply aren’t playing well enough, creating enough or scoring enough goals to warrant having Walcott & Sanchez. I’ll keep Sanchez for now, at home to Bournemouth but given Harry Kane’s fixtures throughout December, Sanchez’s days are numbered. 

I’ll be bringing in Coutinho (finally) for Walcott, and at the moment I’m likely to bring in Snodgrass for Tadic. I’m not exactly excited to be bringing in a Hull player at the moment but Snodgrass is the main man up there & offers a couple of captaincy options in the coming weeks. Aside from that my team is pretty settled, I’m going to be rocking a midfield of Hazard, Firmino, Coutinho, Snoddy & Gueye. Aguero is safe for now & as above I’ll likely use one more transfer in next week or two to bring in Kane for Sanchez. 

Captain Plan

My new recruit Coutinho will be my captain on Saturday, if nothing else his ownership makes him a ‘safe’ pick. He’s also good at picking up cheap assists from corners & SOT bonus. 

Sunday I’ll be on Sanchez at home to Bournemouth, whilst Bournemouth are generally defending well at the moment I can’t see a better option than the Chilean. 

16 thoughts on “Treading Water

  1. Dinhosaur November 25, 2016 / 1:00 pm

    Have you seen Macos Alonsos price? I’m very temped to try and find the cash for him in the coming weeks.

    Like

    • Lewis Nicklen November 25, 2016 / 1:03 pm

      Yes he looks an excellent option for sure

      Like

    • hrunny7 November 25, 2016 / 5:57 pm

      I’m really tempted too. I always like a strong defence but which midfielder do you miss out? I don’t think I can fit him in. If there was a midseason Dele Alli then upgrading the defence would work well

      Like

  2. Will November 25, 2016 / 6:57 pm

    Interesting to see you’re thinking of ditching Sanchez. I had planned (for ages) to do Lukaku > Sanchez this week as I need an arsenal player for captaincy over Xmas… Feel like it’s going against the grain but can’t really go without an arsenal player and had enough of Lukaku.

    Do you not need an Arsenal player over Xmas for captaincy?

    Like

    • Will November 25, 2016 / 7:07 pm

      Just had another look at the fixtures… Sanchez > Kane looks a good option for 14th Dec

      Liked by 1 person

    • Lewis Nicklen November 25, 2016 / 7:51 pm

      Haven’t had a detailed look but think Kane is a perfect option. Of course there’s also the Aguero situation. Need to look in more detail but certainly want Kane in by mid December

      Liked by 1 person

  3. hrunny7 November 26, 2016 / 12:27 am

    Has anyone got Friend? Looks like he’ll miss a lot of good games. Should I keep? He will come back on boxing day probably

    Like

    • Hornetto November 26, 2016 / 7:32 am

      I think it depends on your transfer count. I had a mate who put Nathan Ake in his team at the start of the season and he only just played his first match last week……and scored with a clean sheet at Stoke….he is now a cheap high-scoring defender!! Your swap might just accumulate minus points if you don’t have the funds! Alonso looks very good value at 7.9m, but I don’t have the funds. Dawson at WBA is always a good fantasy pick and is not much more than Friend. Good luck?

      Like

    • Will November 26, 2016 / 10:35 am

      If you can stretch to Alonso it’s a no brainer for me. Otherwise it’s a tough call, but I may be tempted with McAuley / Dawson if you have plenty of transfers left

      Like

    • Will November 26, 2016 / 10:32 am

      Good to see you’re still going strong this season Ian!

      Heaton > Pickford feels like a bit of a wasted transfer. Any other way to get funds? If not, you could just keep friend and save yourself 2 transfers.

      That said, Alonso is a great pick (brought him in last week myself) – so it could pay off

      Like

      • ianp1970 November 26, 2016 / 11:48 am

        Think if I’m going to do this, it will be after Chelsea have been to the Ethiad.

        Like

  4. Dan November 26, 2016 / 9:23 pm

    sitting smug here with no coutinho and Kun(C)

    Like

  5. Dinhosaur November 30, 2016 / 12:30 pm

    Coutinho injury giving anyone else headaches? I’m stuck between Coutinho straight to Costa or spending two transfers to find extra money to get Kane.

    Like

Leave a Reply

